Start Here
Explore Avila

Avila Care Team

Avila Care Team (ACT)

 

The Avila Care Team affirms the mission and values of Avila University by responding with care and compassion to the personal crises which may impact any member of the Avila community.

When a member of the Avila community experiences a crisis or serious problem in their life, we ask that those aware of it bring the situation to the attention of an ACT member. The team will discuss the best and most sensitive way to support the person in need. For example, an instructor reports to the ACT that a resident student has been missing class and appears depressed. An ACT member or a Resident Assistant that has a good relationship with that student will check in with the student and refer the student to the appropriate resources.

If you have particular concerns about a student or other member(s) of the Avila community you have three avenues in which to share this information:

  • You may complete the Avila Care Team (ACT) form
  • If you wish to share information anonymously, you may call 866.943.5787 and leave a message for ACT.
  • If you wish to share information and are concerned about privacy issues related to completing the form, please contact any member of ACT listed below.

If you are concerned about the immediate safety of a member of the Avila community, please call 911 or Campus Safety at 816.985.6079. 

Avila Care Team Staff

Jason F. Baldwin
Director of Student Life
Phone: 816.501.3754
Jason.Baldwin@avila.edu

Regan Baker
Student Support Services
Phone: 816.501.2427
regan.baker@avila.edu

Julie Cowley
Assistant Director of Campus Ministry
Phone: 816.501.0427
Julie.Cowley@avila.edu

Sara Eckinger
Eagles Aware Program Coordinator
816-501-2909
sara.eckinger@avila.edu

Cindy Freeman
Assistant Athletic Director & Head Dance Team Coach
Phone: 816.501.2478
Cindy.Freeman@avila.edu

Darby Gough
Assistant Vice President of Student Development and Success
Phone: 816.501.3748
Darby.Gough@avila.edu

Taryn Hodison
Coordinator of Counseling and Career Services
Phone: 816.501.3767
taryn.hodison@avila.edu

Paige Illum
Director of Student Engagement and Success
Phone: 816.501.3760
Paige.Illum@avila.edu

Chris Roberts 
Manager, Campus Safety
Phone: 816.501.2425
Chris.Roberts@avila.edu

Steven Sweat
Director of Residence Life
Phone: 816-501-2785
steven.sweat@avila.edu

The Avila Promise

  • Tuition Protection
  • 4-Year Graduation Guarantee
  • Internship or Research Guarantee
  • Up to $1,000 Travel Award

 

That’s the Avila Promise.

Your next chance to SOAR

Welcome Class of 2023

All first-year students are required to attend one SOAR (Student Orientation, Advising and Registration) event.

Your next opportunity is May 24, 2019.

RSVP here>>

Commencement Activities

commencement

Grads at 2019 Commencement

Congratulations Class of 2019!

To see photos from our celebration of the 102nd graduating class,

visit our Flickr page >>

Graduate & Adult Undergraduate Program Info Sessions

decorative

Join us this month for either lunch or after hours, and start earning your degree at the speed of life.

Adult Undergraduate Week:
May 21 and 22, 2019

For details and to RSVP >>

AU News

Avila University - SOAR 2018
×

Reach Your
Full Potential

Want to know more about Avila University and the Avila Promise?
Fill out the form below.

Clicking the "Request Information" button below constitutes your express written consent to be called and/or texted by Avila University at the number you provided, regarding furthering your education. You understand that these calls may be generated using automated technology.