Start Here
Explore Avila

Social Work Department Awards

The Dorothy Gallagher Award

The Dorothy Gallagher Award is given in honor of Dorothy Gallagher. Miss Gallagher taught at Avila predecessor, St. Teresa's Academy, from 1949 to 1962. Miss Gallagher had an MSW from Washington University in St. Louis and had worked for the Jackson County Welfare Office. At St. Teresa's, she helped develop the sociology program and continued to be active in social work in the Kansas City area. Her family endowed the Guadalupe Center and, in the tradition of Jane Addams, Miss Gallagher and her sister lived at the Center. She was fluent in Spanish and worked with Hispanic Americans in that area without pay.

Avila's Social Work department established this award to honor Dorothy Gallagher's memory. Each year, a student who exemplifies social work values is chosen to receive the award. The student must have at least a 3.5 GPA in social work courses, and demonstrate maturity, self-awareness, personal and social responsibility, the ability to think and reason critically and analytically, and growth in these areas during his/her time in the BSW department at Avila. 

Beginning in 1976, the Dorothy Gallagher Award has been presented to Avila BSW students who best represented the ideals of social work education. Full-time social work faculty makes the selection from students who are approaching graduation.

Emily Jooste

Emily Jooste is presented with the 2014 Dorothy Gallagher Award by Social Work Chair, Dr. Francis Origanti.

Past Recipients

  • Amanda Eisenmann, 2018
  • Pedro Argumedo, 2017
  • Sarah Owsley Townsend, 2016
  • Kaitlyn McLaughlin, 2015
  • Emily Jooste, 2014
  • Kendra Hough, 2013
  • Kelley Pierson, 2012
  • Norman Gunn, 2011
  • Jennifer Cardinal, 2010
  • Jennifer Spiegel, 2009
  • Valerie Marshall, 2007
  • Jadda I. Boarman, 2006
  • Elizabeth Guerrero, 2005
  • Crystal L. Criddle, 2004
  • Adrianne J. Mason, 2003
  • Jacqueline Brown, 2002
  • Megan Lawrence and Mari Lynn Garcia, 2001
  • Colleen R. Pleiss, 2000
  • Carla M. McCarty, 1999
  • Steven R. McCullough, 1998
  • Christina Czarev, 1997
  • Jamie Kieffaber Christoffersen, 1996
  • Jan Elayne Hope, 1995
  • Karen E. Burns, 1994


  • Sharon Lynn Rider, 1993
  • Leslie Ann Cochran, 1992
  • Joyce A. Logan, 1991
  • Deloris E. Phelps, 1990
  • Adrienne Vogel and Rosella Wheeler, 1989
  • Mary Hunter, 1988
  • Marilyn "Lyn" Alexander and Lisa D. Dasbach, 1987
  • Geri Hoerman, 1986
  • Mary Kay Tillman, 1985
  • Joan Bengtson, 1984
  • Suzanne Russ, 1983
  • Susan Frenzen, 1982
  • Kathleen Henggeler, 1981
  • Wendy Park, 1980
  • Maxine O. Tivis, 1979
  • Sr. K. M. Cefolia, 1978
  • Robert H. Phelps, 1977
  • Paula Snodgrass, 1976

The Avila Promise

  • Tuition Protection
  • 4-Year Graduation Guarantee
  • Internship or Research Guarantee
  • Up to $1,000 Travel Award


That’s the Avila Promise.

Why choose an Avila BSW?

Discover a path with heart...

Avila University Ranked in Top 5 Social Work Programs in Missouri

Learn more.

Social Work Student Awards

SW Award Winners

AU News

Avila University - SOAR 2018

Reach Your
Full Potential

Want to know more about Avila University and the Avila Promise?
Fill out the form below.

Clicking the "Request Information" button below constitutes your express written consent to be called and/or texted by Avila University at the number you provided, regarding furthering your education. You understand that these calls may be generated using automated technology.