Celebrating Student Success
Avila University
Steer Dinner & Auction
Saturday, February 7, 2015

Steer Leadership

Kenneth & Marilyn Hager
Honorary Chairs

Bob '78 & Pat '79 Hardin
Event Chairs

S.O.L.D. Fund







Thank you to the alumni, trustees, friends, faculty, staff and students that made the 39th annual Steer Dinner the most successful event in its history! Together, we raised $1,005,500 for scholarships for Avila students, an incredible increase over last year's total raised of $780,015. Dr. Slepitza declared the evening as the official kick off of Avila's Centennial Celebration, as the University turns 100 years in 2016. More than 650 guests and student volunteers, including more than 200 alumni celebrated, contributed and danced the night away, all to make a difference for Avila students. The alumni honored S. Marie Joan Harris' 45 years of service by presenting her with a tackle box and a weekend stay at Roaring River State Park, a favorite of hers. Honorary Chairs, Ken & Marilyn Hager, and Co-Chairs, Bob '78 and Pat '79 Hardin were honored for their leadership. At the end of the live auction, they announced that more than $1 million had been raised, causing the room to erupt in cheers, laughter and even some tears of joy!

Thank you to all that made it possible, and see you at next year's event!

For more information about how to support student scholarships, please call Celeste Greenlee at 816-501-2450 or email celeste.greenlee@avila.edu.