Start Here
Explore Avila


History of Steer Dinner & Auction

In 1977, the Steer Dinner started with the gift of an American Royal Grand Champion Steer (named Jimmy C.), a Sister and a plan.

When Jimmy C. was donated by several area businessmen to S. Olive Louis Dallavis, then president of Avila, she needed to turn the gift into cash. The school cafeteria was moderately decorated, tables set and steaks served. Since the first dinner 42 years ago, alumni, family and friends have contributed more than $12 million in scholarship money – assuring that 98% of Avila undergraduate students receive financial assistance.

Steer Leadership

Since 1977, many alumni and community leaders have lent their time, talents and treasure to make sure the legacy of S. Olive Louise and the Steer Dinner continues to thrive. Special thanks to these past Steer chairpersons – leaders who continue to champion values-based education and other important initiatives in our community.

Past Steer Dinner Honorary Chairs

• Don and Christine Alexander
• Kathleen Andrews
• The Andrews McMeel Universal Foundation
• Carolyn Berbiglia†
• Robert and Phyliss ’80, ’81 Bernstein
• Henry and Marion† Bloch
• Bob and Olie Boyle†
• Clarkson Construction Company
• Roderick J. and Jo Anne Cyr Foundation
• Forster-Powers Charitable Trust
• S. Olive Louise Dallavis, CSJ
• Vince† and Marilee DiCarlo
• Bill Sr. and Jean ’44 Dunn
• Joe and Sue Fahey
• Forster-Powers Charitable Trust
• Dave ‘76 and Geri Frantze
• The Goppert Foundation
• Richard and Shirli Goppert
• Ken and Marilyn Hager
• Robert and Michelle Hunter
• John Latshaw†


• John and Nancy McCarthy
• Kevin and Susan McGreevy
• John and Susan McMeel
• Dorothy Meade Memorial/Dr. Benjamin Meade
• Mary Beth Meyers†
• Bob† and Carol Miller and Family
• Mike and Emmy† Morrissey
• Philomena Muntzel†
• DJ and Ann O’Hare
• Jeanne Hamilton Olofson ’92, ’94, ’11
• The Tom W. and Jeanne H. Olofson Foundation
• Paddi Browne OSullivan
• Will and Senia ’01 Shields
• Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet
• John J. Sullivan, Jr.†
• Rose Teicher†
• The Class of 1954 and Byron Thompson†
    in Memory of Jeanne Collins Thompson ‘54
• The Byron Thompson Family
• The Bill Waris Scholarship Fund
• Dorothy Whitfield ’55

Past Event Chairs

• Tom and Virginia ’58 Coppinger
• Becky Cotton
• Joe and Sue Fahey
• Bob and Terry ’79 Fisher
• Dave ‘76 and Geri Frantze 
• Ken and Marilyn Hager
• Linda Hanson
• Bob ’78 and Pat ’79 Hardin

• John and Nancy McCarthy
• Lauren McCarthy ’07
• Jack and Kathy ’70 Newman
• DJ and Ann O' Hare 
• Phil and Lee Ann Orscheln
• Joel and Brenda Pelofshy
• Rodd and Martha ’66 Staker
• Ana Valdez ’96
• Jim and Ruth† Willcox

† indicates deceased

The Avila Promise

  • Tuition Protection
  • 4-Year Graduation Guarantee
  • Internship or Research Guarantee
  • Up to $1,000 Travel Award


That’s the Avila Promise.

It's your time to SOAR

Welcome Class of 2023

All first-year students are required to attend one SOAR (Student Orientation, Advising and Registration) event. Your first opportunity is April 13, 2019. RSVP here>>

March MANIA at Avila

March Mania

march mania

Support your favorite Avila athletics team and advance them to the championship with your donations. 

Click for more information and to give >>

Graduation INFO

Commencement ceremony deadline

If you want to participate in this spring's ceremony you must have your graduation application filed by April 12, 2019

Information and application >> 

AU News

Avila University - SOAR 2018

Reach Your
Full Potential

Want to know more about Avila University and the Avila Promise?
Fill out the form below.

Clicking the "Request Information" button below constitutes your express written consent to be called and/or texted by Avila University at the number you provided, regarding furthering your education. You understand that these calls may be generated using automated technology.