Avila Now

October 22, 2018

Avila University Announces 2018 Alumni Awardees

Alumni Award winners group photo

Avila University is proud to announce 14 outstanding alumni and an honorary alumnus, which were honored and recognized at the Alumni Awards Ceremony and Luncheon during Homecoming Weekend 2018. Alumni are nominated throughout the year by alumni, friends, faculty and staff. Alumni winners are determined by the selection committee from the Alumni Board, comprised of board members, alumni and staff.

The following alumni awardees are:

Outstanding Alumnus Award, Marcia E. Walsh ’73, Onaga, Kansas
Alumni Achievement Award, Julie C. McManus ’67, Kansas City, Missouri
Alumni Service Award, Nyakio Kaniu-Lake ’09, Leawood, Kansas
Recent Alumni Award, Roberto Camacho ’12, Kansas City, Missouri

Academic Department Alumni Awardees:
College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences, Jennipher Hawkins ’13, Independence, Missouri
School of Business, Jeff Randolph ’01 and Susan Randolph ’05, Raymore, Missouri
School of Education, Sherry McCombs ’97, ’00, Belton, Missouri
School of Nursing, Kelby Schroeder ’13, Lee’s Summit, Missouri
School of Professional Studies, Miriam Maiden ’07, Lee’s Summit, Missouri
School of Science & Health, Dr. Diane Ordway Thompson ’75, Leawood, Kansas
School of Visual & Communication Arts, Michele Watley ’09, ’14, Kansas City, Missouri

Honorary Alumnus, Ollie Thibeaux, Kansas City, Missouri

Volunteer of the Year Awardees:
Mary Anne Flucke ’54, ’83, Kansas City, Missouri
Mary Ann Mulligan ’53, Kansas City, Missouri

Avila University, a Catholic University founded and inspired by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet, is a values-based community of learning providing liberal arts, professional, undergraduate and graduate education to prepare students for responsible, lifelong contributions to the global community. Our approach to education brings out the best in our students, so they can bring out the best in others.

Go back to the top