Avila Home Page
Helpful Links


Sunday, September 28

12:15pm in Whitfield Center

Each year, the Avila Alumni Association recognizes our outstanding and diverse alumni at our annual alumni awards luncheon held the Sunday of Homecoming Week.

2014 Awardees

Outstanding Alumni Award:
Ahmad Ashkar ’04, Business Administration

Alumni Service Award:
Carmen (Canzonere) Bisacca ’89, Psychology

Alumni Achievement Award:
Julie (Murphy) Garwood '65, General Studies
John Michael Kelley ’85, Political Science

Graduate Alumni Award:
Shelia (McWilliams) Gilchriest ’00, Education

Recent Alumni Award:
Nick Ward-Bopp ’09, Marketing

Honored Class Award:
Kathleen (Hegarty) Thorne '64, Speech/Theatre
Sue (Hagerman) King, Ph.D., ’79, Mathematics

School of Business: Ronald Harland ’81, Marketing
School of Education: Wendy (Connelly) Kline ’08, ’09, Education
College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences: Joy Donze ’09, Theatre
School of Nursing: Ellen Dukes, Ph.D.,’71, Nursing
School of Science & Health: Nancy Siebolt, M.D., ’78, Biology
School of Visual & Communication Arts: Zachary Choate ’07, Communications
School of Professional Studies: Brentley Brazell '08, Organizational Development


See a classmate being honored but can’t attend homecoming weekend? Send your congratulatory notes to the Alumni Office and we’ll share them with the honoree or make a gift to Avila’s scholarship fund in their honor.

View the Award Categories

For more information, please contact the Alumni Association at 816-501-3780 or alumni@avila.edu.

Awardee - Ana Valdez
2013 Awards
Ron Slepitza, President
Ana Valdez, MBA '96

2013 Awards
Dr. Larry Sullivan, Dean, School of Science & Health
Ibraheem Badejo, Chemistry ‘84
Ron Slepitza, President