Celebrating Student Success
Avila University
Steer Dinner & Auction
Saturday, February 7, 2015

Steer Leadership

Kenneth & Marilyn Hager
Honorary Chairs

Bob '78 & Pat '79 Hardin
Event Chairs

S.O.L.D. Fund



History of Steer

In 1977, the Steer Dinner started with the gift of an American Royal Grand Champion Steer (named Jimmy C), a Sister, and a plan.

When Jimmy C was donated to by several area businessmen to Sister Olive Louis Dallavis, then President of Avila, she needed to turn the gift into cash. The school cafeteria was moderately decorated, tables set and steaks served. Since the first dinner years ago, alumni, family and friends have contributed more than $8 million in scholarship money – assuring that 98% of first-year Avila students receive some form of financial assistance.

Please join Kenneth and Marilyn Hager, honorary chairpersons, and Bob '78 & Pat '79 Hardin, event chairpersons, champions of education in our community today, at the 2015 Steer Dinner as they continue the legacy of Sister Olive Louise and raise scholarship funds for those that need it the most.

View photos from the 2014 Steer Dinner

Couple Group
Frantze McCarthy Slepitza Hager

For more information about how to support student scholarships with a gift through Steer Dinner, please call 816-501-3602 or email advancement@avila.edu.

Past Steer Leadership

Kenneth and Marilyn Hager join a long list of community leaders that have lent their time, talents and treasures to make sure the legacy of Sister Olive Louise and the Steer Dinner continues to thrive. Special thanks to these past Steer Honorary Chairpersons – leaders who continue to champion values-based education and other important initiatives in our community: