For more information contact: Michelle Key, Public Relations Specialist
Work: 816-501-2434  
Email: Michelle Key  

  Avila University receives continued accreditation    
  Kansas City, MO    
September 11, 2008

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools announced that Avila University will be reaccredited for a 10-year period – the maximum number of years awarded.

“Avila University is in an exciting time,” the report reads. “It is establishing its brand as a school that offers a caring Catholic identity. The process is ongoing, but promises to stabilize enrollment and finances while at the same time assert who and what Avila will be. There is a welcoming and gracious spirit on campus and the feeling of renewal.”

The HLC announcement was the culmination of Avila University’s extensive institutional review addressing the commission's requirements and criteria for reaccreditation. The steering committee, including Sr. Marie Joan Harris, Dr. Michele Hinds, Dr. Sue King, and Dr. David Wissman, completed a 144 page comprehensive self-study and were instrumental in Avila earning this recognition.

“I want to express my deep appreciation to the steering committee of our reaccreditation effort for all of their hard work,” said Avila University President Dr. Ron Slepitza. “Their work was exemplary - their product outstanding.”

In January, an evaluation team representing the HLC visited Avila to gather information for a formal report. Participants of the five-member team, led by Dr. David W. Wantz, Associate Professor of Psychology at the University of Indianapolis, reported their evaluations to the committee for final approval.

The HLC is one of six accrediting agencies in the U.S. that provides institutional accreditation on a regional basis. Institutional accreditation evaluates an entire institution and accredits it as a whole. Other agencies provide accreditation for specific programs. Accreditation is voluntary the HLC accredits about 1,100 institutions of higher education in a 19-state region. The commission is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Avila University was first accredited by HLC in 1946. Its accreditation is at the Master’s level in Education, Psychology, and the Master’s degree in Business Administration. Avila University’s post-baccalaureate certificates may be offered in areas of Master's programming and in Project Management.


Avila University is a private, co-educational, values-based liberal arts institution founded by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet, offering undergraduate, graduate, and adult degree programs. Avila University is located at 119th and Wornall Rd in southwest suburban Kansas City, Mo.