Avila Athletics History

2007 - 2012

2000 - 2006






Women's soccer sets a school record for best overall winning percentage in school history at .665%. Men's Soccer advances to the regional tournament. Women's basketball team sets school record for most victories in a season with 23. Head Women's Basketball Coach Jim McMurray leads his team to back-to-back 20+ wins seasons, and receives a national ranking as high as 17th, with defense ranked as #1 in the nation. Nick Totta is hired as men's basketball coach. Baseball set a school record with 50 wins, beating the old record of 47 wins in 1994, in the process winning the MCAC Championship. Head Coach Jim Huber is named Coach of the Year for both the conference and region as he leads his team to 2nd in the Great Plains region. Men's Soccer advances to the regional tournament. Intercollegiate football is added to the athletic program and begins its first season of competition in the fall of 2000. Tim Johnson is hired as the program's first coach. Avila mourns the loss of Head Softball coach Dennis Gault, the 1998 Coach of the Year. Dennis passes away in November after a battle with cancer.


Patrick Phillips, Avila alum, is hired as head men's soccer coach. Melanie Roberts is hired as volleyball coach. Jim McMurray becomes the All-Time winningest Basketball coach, for women, in Avila college history. For the first time in Avila history, the softball team beats Bellevue University to win the MCAC regular season conference championship. The championship earned the Lady Eagles a berth in the Regional tournament. Dennis Gault earns the Coach of the Year award for the softball team's success. The baseball team wins 40 games for the third time in the 90's and Andrew Diaz is named MCAC Player of the Year and to the NAIA All American Team.


Jeff Randolph is hired as head women's soccer coach and helps build the program through the largest women's soccer recruiting class since the program's inception in 1994. Dennis Gault is hired as head softball.


Michael Crozier was named Athletic Director helping the athletic department sign a 5 year $25,000 exclusive contract with Coca-Cola. Avila alumni Joe Schrick and Dennis Joyce were introduced into the Avila Athletic Hall of Fame.


Dylan Aiman, Avila alum, is hired as head men's soccer coach. Coach Aiman, in his first year turns a 4-13 team in 1994, into a 10-9 playoff contending team.


Women's soccer team formed and reached district playoffs. The baseball team beats Rockhurst College in the District 16 championship gaining berth in the Midwest Regional where they lost the championship game to St. Ambrose College. Coach Huber is awarded Coach of the Year. On April 5, 1994, Avila College becomes a charter member of the Midlands Collegiate Athletic Conference (MCAC). The Women's volleyball team comes back from two sets down to defeat regular season champion Kansas Newman and wins the first ever MCAC tournament. The stunning victory eared the Eagles a berth in the NAIA Midwest Regional.


James Huber, Sr. is hired as head baseball coach.


Carl Clapp is hired as Avila's first full-time Director of Athletics. Prior to Clapp's appointment, the director also maintained coaching responsibilities.


The Thomas R. Zarda Athletic Complex is dedicated in honor of the successful area businessman and the chairman of the Avila College Board of Trustees. The versatile sports area includes softball, soccer, and baseball fields.


By popular vote, "Eagles" replaces "Avalanche" as the official school mascot. A new college logo is unveiled and wins a national design award. Mark Tobin is hired to serve as Athletic Director and head coach for baseball while Dave Klein continues as assistant coach. Jim McMurray is hired as women's head basketball coach.

Avila University Eagles Athletics
11901 Wornall Road  |  Kansas City, MO 64145
p: 816.501.3634  |  f: 816.941.4503  |  athletics@avila.edu

©2012 Avila University Eagles Athletics