Hall of Fame Inductee

1982 Men's Soccer Team

In just their sixth year of existence as an intercollegiate program the 1982 Men’s Soccer Team placed 4th at the NAIA National Soccer Tournament. Finishing the season with an overall record of 18-5-1 they also captured the District 16 Championship for the first time in school history by defeating cross-state rival Lindenwood. Avila finished the 1982 regular season as the number one rated team in the NAIA national poll and received the number one seed in the National tournament.

The 1982 Men’s Soccer Team:
Joe Schrick, Matt Tierney, Craig Westbrook, Butch Miller, Scott Huber, Neil Kelly, Assistant Coach Orlin Stener, Ron Essmyer, Kevin Holman, Neil Madigan, Phil Bryde, Joe Eppy, Tom Zahner, Ryan Roberts, Mike Auck, Tom Unger, Larry Larson, Craig Kasten, Tom Hampel, Head Coach Chris Carenza

< Back to the Hall of Fame

Avila University Eagles Athletics
11901 Wornall Road  |  Kansas City, MO 64145
p: 816.501.3634  |  f: 816.941.4503  |  athletics@avila.edu

©2012 Avila University Eagles Athletics